Skip to content

RAID 0/1/5/10

Tenantos has default templates for all common RAID levels:

  • RAID 0/1/5/10

The difference to Automatic Partitioning is that the RAID level does not jump to the next higher RAID level after a certain number of hard disks but puts all hard disks into the specified RAID level. For example, a RAID 5 with 7 hard drives.

Spare disks are handled the same way as at Automatic Partitioning. If a disk is left over, it will be configured as a spare disk. For example, in an RAID 1 with three disks, one disk will be configured as a spare disk.

The RAID disk layouts are only displayed to the user if the server has enough disks according to the server inventory.

Boot Partition

The /boot partition is always created as RAID 1 for compatibility reasons and the boot loader is automatically installed on all available disks (/dev/sda, /dev/sdb, etc.).

Supported Templates

kickstart, autoinstall and preseed templates are supported (CentOS, Ubuntu, ...). Windows PE is not supported at the moment.

Device Naming

As with Automatic Partitioning, the device namings are handled automatically without hard-coding them in the template. This makes it easy when working with different disk types like NVMe or SSD.